The Big Elusive Bird Walks up on the Hunter

Posted on April 26, 2014

1


From my roots, I am a Hunter, Gatherer, Farmer. In my youth is spent much of my time doing all three. I learned from the very dedicated and those who had to do in order to survive.

This post is from one of my life long friends who loves the Hunt. Five years ago, he got his first turkey. For those who hunt, you know that the turkey is one of the most difficult beings to capture. They are cunning and have senses that are seemingly “supernatural” in keen-ness. It seems they can feel you as well as see anything that reflects, even your eyes.

It took four years before he was able to bag another bird. This one is a monster! And, as will happen with the hunt so often, he was not ready or even trying to hunt when he got it. This turkey came to him.

In his words, Sid recounts the moment:

“”Ok just a recap on my turkey hunting day… 
Went out to the area where I thought the turkeys were roosting from yesterdays observation. Strolled down to the spot I thought and well I muffed it an spooked all the birds out. Went ahead n sit down to see if they would come back. After watching turkeys come back and not being aggressive to calling. I had devised another plan for tomorrow. So I was backing out an slipping up the back way out; about 300 yards. I decided that before I made the last trek across the field I’d stop and pour a cup of coffee. While drinking my coffee I had a big gobbler walk right up on me, sun shining brightly on my wedding ring and coffee cup. Two things that really spook big birds… I ducked my head and dropped my cup. That is when the 15 yard bird slowly turned and started the opposite way, when he was behind a multiflower rose bush I grabbed my weapon an readied for a shot. When he cleared the bush I fired. He dropped like a brick. Happened so fast I didn’t get the adrenaline rush until it was done. Just goes to show, U never give up no matter what cause you just don’t know what will happen out in the wild. What a freaking day!!!

After a 4 yr drought and after trying to cowboy your bird last year it was pretty freakin’ sweet.  Just watching them taunt me for two mornings would have been plenty to accept, listening to them hammer, listening to the hens, and watching the big toms strut N gobble just out of range. Good memories made this spring for sure.””

 

The adrenaline rush after lasted for a few hours. Here are the pictures I took when I arrived about an hour after the big was bagged.

 

 

IMG_5928 IMG_5929 IMG_5931 IMG_5933 IMG_5937 IMG_5874 IMG_5875 IMG_5876 IMG_5878

The adrenaline is still pumping! Oh an d yes DNR…that is a turkey tag you see!!!!!

 

 

IMG_5884

That is a monster Tom Turkey!!!

 

IMG_5887 IMG_5888 IMG_5889 IMG_5892

Hunter Cowboy got-r-did!!!!! Nice suit!

 

 

IMG_5907 IMG_5912

Fat Dog has to help at every step.

 

IMG_5914

Getting the tail for the memory mount.

 

IMG_5919 IMG_5923 IMG_5925

 

These photos uploaded out of order. They are going to stay that way. I am sure you get the idea. This is post number two of the magic day that was April 24th, 2014. The magic walk in the woods is the finale…I know you cannot wait!

