Shocking Experience

Posted on March 19, 2014

0


image

Fat Dog looking as cute as the law will allow!

Since my birthday, I have done something entirely new (to me), something I have not done before in this life, every day.

Yesterday was no exception. I had a booking for a double gemstone body treatment in Shelbyville. I was not supposed to be there until 6 p.m. So I decided to hand out with my BFF’s, Patty and Sid. Lucky me, I brought dress-down clothes to do the body work in, so I was able to go on a walk with them after work.

It was a very fun, pretty and eventful walk. Seems the three of us always find adventures when we go places. I like that. Life is boring without a story to tell.

Our story is that we walked about ¾ of a mile when we saw two dogs coming up out of a field. They had collars on, but they were both kind of big. A German Shepherd and another mix of some kind. I am not a dog owner, and because of that I assume all dogs will bite me until proven otherwise. My friends do own dogs, so they were immediately comfortable petting them. (I did pet the one, but the other would not get close enough for any of us to touch her.) They said they knew whose dogs they were. Since the dogs were up on the busy road, we decided to walk the around the pond and back to their property. Hopefully someone would be home to put them up. That was a fun part of the walk, as Sid told me about all of the great fishing spots in this pond. It was also a bit sad because he can no longer fish there. The new owners said he could fish there but anytime he does, they come and make him leave. (See rule #2: People are Stupid.) They also let people who are not outdoorsmen come to fish and keep the biggest, most important fish to the balance of the pond. So now the fishing is not as good because the ecosystem was thrown off. Which makes it ok that you can’t fish there, since the fishing is not good anymore anyway.

So we finally get the dog to the property. The girl dog would not come with, but she followed about 100 yards behind. As we start to round the barn toward the house, the dog yelped loudly and jumped back away. Why? Well because, they have an invisible fence for the dogs. Which they had very obviously broken out of, but there was no way they were going back in. Sid knocked on the door of the house, no one answered but he thought someone was there. His phone would not work for him to get the number of the guy he knows who is friends with the owners. (The phone was duly punished for not working properly for the last month by being replaced after we got back home. Somehow that barn caused the phone to break, so he had to get a new one.) Patty’s phone was dead. So I called the number on the tag. A lady answered, said she was on her way home and to take the shock collar off and then get him back in the yard.

 

Even with collar off, he still would not go past the spot where the wire was buried. It was freshly done, so this whole set up was new to the dogs. During this time, the girl dog had finally come around to see what we were up to. Sid and Patty kind of picked the Shepherd up and wrangled /walked him across the wired barrier. I picked up the shock collar and was holding it when I got to the wire. I was not thinking or paying attention, so you know I had a hold of the electrode when I hit the barrier. I yelled out some profanity (I am sure, I do not really remember) then I dropped the collar. I looked at the dog, he looked at me and I started to cry. Not because it was physically painful, which it was. Because it is mean, unkind and hurt my heart to think this animal has to deal with this all the time. Patty said she was going to tell me to be careful and I should just throw the collar over the barrier. I kicked it across. I wanted to stomp it and throw it in the pond. As we came up to the house, a teenage girl came out, yelling for the dogs. Someone was home, as Sid thought. She had a bucket of water in her hand. She grabbed the shepherd from us. The girl dog was still behind the barrier by the barn. We headed home, one phone less and three sad hearts. It was good we got the dogs off the road, but I so did not want to leave them to live where have to be punished for being a dog.

 

How. Can. You. Possibly. Do. That. To. Your. Family. Member.

 

Again, I am not a dog owner, but my kids are. I have many friends with dogs. I am not aware of any of them that use shock collars. One of them uses a “pinch” collar. Which I am going to say is bad enough, inflicting pain to modify behavior. But to Shock an animal over and over with that much current is inhumane. It is cruel and I do not feel that anyone can explain to me how this is okay. I mean that electricity ran up my arm it was so strong. What must it feel like against your neck? And the electrode has two prongs to be sure it gets down to the skin. I imagine that the fur conducts the current as well. My guess is their whole entire head get “buzzed”, and not in a good way. It is so bad that he did not want to go back, even after we got past the “spot”. It made me mad, it hurt my feelings and it made me cry for those poor babies.

Here is what I have to say about it. Next time I am walking and I see those dogs out of there “electric terror” I am going to take the collar off and throw it in the drink. Those dogs almost looked as if they were trying to make a break for it. And I do not want them to get hit or picked up by someone even crueler. Taking them back home was the right thing to do, if I am not taking them home with me, which would be stealing or dog-napping. But the least I can do next time is give them a little break by making the owners have to get replacement collars.

My advice, if you want to put a shock device on your pet then hold it in YOUR hand and let it shock you first. Then decide if you want to subject your beloved family member to that every time he/she gets too near the “electric barrier”.

The evening was nice but windy. The walk was pretty and a new experience, new memory was created. And something new was learned about each of us, by each of us. A good day with a sad note. That sums up life very well I would say.

 

