Persimmon Predicts a Snowy Winter

Posted on October 19, 2013

3


When I was little one of the most fun thins I got to do in the fall was help Mamwa pick up persimmons after the first frost. I loved them. And I still do. We would dress up warmly, scarves and buckets in hand, then head out to the edge of the garden where the two persimmon trees stood that were gifts from their home in Kentucky. I would eat as many as I picked up it seemed. And you had to be careful not to step on any of the fruit on the ground, because then they were squished and ruined. Whenever I went to trick or treat at my Mamaw and Papaw’s house, I always got a special package of persimmon pudding instead of candy!

There is something amazing about a persimmon in that it is a pre-spiced fruit. Somehow, it tastes like the all-spice has already been added to the pulp before it comes off the tree. When ripe, they are a delight…soft, mushy, sweet and unusual. If they are not quite ripe, they have a “grit” that some people describe as bitter. It is a film that gets on the inside of your mouth. Then you have to take time to rub it off with your tongue or wash your mouth out with water.

According to My Mamaw, there is no reason to even try and eat a persimmon until after the first frost, even if they fall out of the tree.

I knew when that day came the next week would bring persimmon pudding. Rich, gooey, I-ate-a-whole-pan-myself every time she made it pudding.  It is one of the things she used to make me I miss the most of her cooking.

 

Another thing she and Papaw always did was cut the seeds from the inside of the persimmon open to see what kind of precipitation the winter would bring each year. The shape of the seedling inside of the seed itself would indicate if we could expect ice, heavy or light snow.

A spoon means snow, the bigger the spoon the more snow we can expect. You need a “spoon” to shovel the snow The shape of a butter knife means lots of ice. You need a knife to “cut” the ice.

The shape of a fork means light snow and rain. You will only need a fork to “fluff” the light snow of the season.

Below you an see the seed, whole, before I cut it. Then I used a razor…carefully!!! To cut the seed in (kind of” half.

You can see at the bottom of the half seed pictures a whitish area that look like the shape of a spoon. It is kind of large, indicating a decent amount of snow. If it is a fork shape that would have three ‘prongs’ on it. A knife would have one straight side and one that was a half circle, like a knife blade.

The last shot it of the persimmon before I ate it…that is a really nice shot…good lighting!

 

So we can lok forward to some white this winter, although it does not look like too big of a shovel will be needed.

2013-10-19 15.58.28 2013-10-19 16.00.18 2013-10-19 16.02.27 2013-10-19 17.15.58 2013-10-19 17.16.20 wpid-IMG_20131018_181238_585.jpg

 

