August 4, 2013 Moon at Sunrise in Indiana

Posted on August 6, 2013

0


These pictures were taken with my trusty (and a bit dirty) Canon Rebel t3. I love this camera so much! I use the Tv setting and just change the amount of time the shutter stays open. Anywhere from 3 seconds to 1/1200th.

The next to the last day before the new moon. Lots of stars surrounding it for sure. Then we have Orion rising to the due East…a breath taking sight when it is that close to the horizon.

These do not do it justice, so if you have a chance and are up before 6:00 a.m. (or sunrise) check out the eastern sky. It is full of stars and you will see Orion kind of laying on his side . It will be on the right side of the sky as the sun is coming up to the left.  I will include a map so you can identify it.

 

IMG_0505

The light streak just above the moon in this picture is a some plane. I always forget to watch for that.

 

 

IMG_0507

 

IMG_0506

IMG_0504

IMG_0503

The square in this picture with the moon and three bright stars is very captivating.

IMG_0495

IMG_0494

IMG_0492

IMG_0490

IMG_0489

The top star is his head, then the two on either side are his arms then you can see the body and most of his belt but not his legs. it looks giant during this time of year.

 

IMG_0488

IMG_0487

IMG_0486

IMG_0485

 

I was not so happy to be woken by cats at 5:15 on a Sunday morning, but I am glad they did! These shots were not as good as I had hoped, I needed my other glasses (next time). The auto focus does not work well for these shots. I am going to try  to get some more shots this week. If we an get a clear sky in the morning.

